\', 1979 to 1983 DOHC CB750/900/1000/1100 Honda Custom, \' - \', Honda DOHC Customs, \'
  Login or Register
1979 to 1983 DOHC CB750/900/1000/1100 Honda Custom: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WWW.CB750C.COM Forum Index -> Welcome and Forum Announcements
HickoryDoc
Getting up steam
Getting up steam

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 8:32 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I hope this doesn't post a couple times. Didn't seem to take. Hope y'all get this site fixed.

--- This is an expanded version of what I posted as a reply in my first "Hey Y'all" message. It's really how I got my "first" 900.

I just joined. I'll tell ya about how I wound up with a CB 900 Custom.

I graduated from high school, near the beach, in 1973. The CB/CL/SL 350/450s were common bikes. First thing ya did was hacksaw off the mufflers and clamp on some Western Auto megaphones.

By the time I was 22 or so I still had the dirt bikes, but had bought my first Harley. Soon had a bad ass XLCH.

Looked at the 900 when it first came out. Interesting motorcycle, but I went and bought a new Superglide. Just couldn't buy a new Honda. Only Harley I have now is my 1982 Shovelhead Five Speed FLT, I bought new. Have more than 160,000 miles on it. Some of the coolest riding was a year in Korea.

I work for motorcycle magazines, doing everything, ad sales, layout and design, distro, photos, stories, shake hands, whatever. My main thang is motorcycle racin, specifically Harley drag racin.

For a pit bike I have a 1976 Honda Mini Trail 50. Shriner Parade Bike. Great condition, just dings in the fenders from hittin each other in parades. Original Shriner dings are OK. No kids have had it in the woods beatin it up. Just drunk old guys, same as now.